AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

CANBERRA THEATRE TRUST ACT 1965

APPOINTMENT

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

No. 56 of 1996

The Canberra Theatre Trust Act 1965 governs the establishment and constitution of the Canberra Theatre Trust

Section 6(1) of the Act deals with the appointment of trustees and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister and to be notified in the *Gazette*.

Section 6(2) of the Act requires the Minister to specify the period, not exceeding five years, of the term of office of the appointee.

This instrument appoints Professor Donald Alexander Aitkin, Ms Patricia Monica Barone, and Mr Richard Graham Thorp as members of the Canberra Theatre Trust until 30 June 1996.

These appointments have effect from 1 September 1995 but do not offend against the *Subordinate Laws Act 1989* as the retrospectivity will not have any detrimental effect

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au