Australian Capital Territory Gazette A C.T. No. 31, Wednesday 20 December 1989

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY REGISTER OF POLITICAL PARTIES Australian Capital Territory (Electoral) Act 1988

The Australian Electoral Commission has received the following applications for registration as political parties under the Australian Capital Territory (Electoral) Act 1988.

* Name of Party:

ACT Independents For A Viable Environment

Abbreviation of Name:

Active

Name and address of proposed registered officer:

Michael John Moore 32 Booroondara Street REID ACT 2601

* Name of Party:

Canberra Independents

Name and address of proposed registered officer:

Jeannine Farrell 2/4 Mathieson Crescent WEETANGERA ACT 2614

* Name of Party:

Independent Group

Name and address of proposed registered officer:

Joan Kellett

32 Dumaresq Street DICKSON ACT 2602

* Name of Party:

Grey Power

Name and address of proposed registered officer:

Robert John Clark

Unit 5, 58 Sorrell Street NTH PARRAMATTA NSW 2151

All the applications state that the party's wish to receive public funding as reimbursement of campaign expenditure.

If you believe the party should not be registered:

- because it does not have as an objective the promotion of the election to the Assembly of candidates it has endorsed; or
- because the application does not meet the technical requirements of the Act; or
- because its name (or abbreviation) is likely to be confused with that of another registered party,

you can formally object by writing to the Australian Electoral Commission. Your submission, which must be signed and contain your address, should be lodged with the Australian Electoral Commission, PO Box E201, Queen Victoria Terrace ACT 2600 before 27 December 1989.

Please contact Sue Sayer on 714413 for detailed information on the technical requirements in the Act. Submissions will be made available to the applicants for comment.

Andre Cirulis A/g Electoral Commissioner