

Electoral – Proposed Redistribution of Electoral Boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly 2003

Notifiable instrument NI 2003 —267

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, s 44 (Notification and publication of proposal)

The 2003 ACT Redistribution Committee has prepared a proposed redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly electoral boundaries.

This notice shows a map of the proposed electorates. Members of the public, political parties and other organisations may make objections to the proposed electoral boundaries to the ACT Electoral Commission.

Proposed Redistribution

The Committee proposes that the current electoral boundaries for the Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly remain unchanged. The current electorates are as follows:

BRINDABELLA, a five member electorate comprising the district of Tuggeranong (excluding the suburb of Hume), the Woden Valley suburbs of Chifley, Pearce and Torrens and the southern remainder of the ACT;

GINNINDERRA, a five member electorate comprising the districts of Belconnen and Hall (including the entire village of Hall) and the Gungahlin suburb of Nicholls; and

MOLONGLO, a seven member electorate comprising the districts of Gungahlin (excluding the suburb of Nicholls), Canberra Central, Weston Creek, Woden Valley (excluding the suburbs of Chifley, Pearce and Torrens), Jerrabomberra (including the entire suburb of Hume), Kowen, Majura, and Stromlo.

The redistribution is being carried out in accordance with the *Electoral Act 1992*.

More detailed information, including a statement by the Committee giving reasons for its proposed redistribution, a map showing the names and boundaries of the proposed electorates and a statistical summary showing the composition of each proposed electorate can be obtained from the office of the ACT Electoral Commission, or from the Commission's website at www.elections.act.gov.au. Also available are copies of the suggestions and comments provided to the Committee by members of the public.

Objections

Written objections must be lodged with the ACT Electoral Commission by 8 August 2003.

Objections should be lodged at:

ACT Electoral Commission Plaza Level, Allara House, 48-56 Allara St CANBERRA ACT 2601

Phone: (02) 6205 0033, Fax: (02) 6205 0382

Email: elections@act.gov.au

Postal Address: PO Box 272, CIVIC SQUARE ACT 2608

Who considers objections?

Objections to the Redistribution Committee's proposal will be considered by the augmented ACT Electoral Commission. The augmented Commission consists of the Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission (Mr Graham Glenn), the Electoral Commissioner (Mr Phillip Green, who is chairperson of the Redistribution Committee), the third member of the ACT Electoral Commission (Dr Christabel Young) and the other members of the Redistribution Committee: the acting Planning and Land Authority (Dr Colin Adrian), the Commissioner for Surveys (Mr David Dobson) and the Regional Director, ACT Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics (Ms Tracy Stewart). The augmented Commission may hold public hearings into objections to the proposed redistribution.

Phillip Green Colin Adrian David Dobson Tracy Stewart

Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory

11 July 2003

