

Crimes (Penalties) Amendment Act 2011

A2011-50

Contents

		Page
1	Name of Act	2
2	Commencement	2
3	Legislation amended	2
4	Section 15 (3)	2
5	Intentionally inflicting grievous bodily harm Section 19 (1)	2
6	Section 19 (2)	3
7	Recklessly inflicting grievous bodily harm Section 20 (1)	3
8	Section 20 (2)	3
9	Causing grievous bodily harm Section 25	3
10	Culpable driving of motor vehicle Section 29 (2)	4
11	Section 29 (3)	4
12	Section 29 (4)	4
13	Section 29 (5)	4



Crimes (Penalties) Amendment Act 2011

A2011-50

An Act to amend the Crimes Act 1900

The Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory enacts as follows:

1 Name of Act

This Act is the Crimes (Penalties) Amendment Act 2011.

2 Commencement

This Act commences on the day after its notification day.

Note

The naming and commencement provisions automatically commence on the notification day (see Legislation Act, s 75 (1)).

3 Legislation amended

This Act amends the Crimes Act 1900.

4 Section 15 (3)

omit

26 years

substitute

28 years

5 Intentionally inflicting grievous bodily harm Section 19 (1)

omit

15 years

substitute

20 years

6 Section 19 (2)

omit

20 years

substitute

25 years

7 Recklessly inflicting grievous bodily harm Section 20 (1)

omit

10 years

substitute

13 years

8 Section 20 (2)

omit

13 years

substitute

15 years

9 Causing grievous bodily harm Section 25

omit

2 years

substitute

5 years

10 Culpable driving of motor vehicle Section 29 (2)

omit

7 years

substitute

14 years

11 Section 29 (3)

omit

9 years

substitute

16 years

12 Section 29 (4)

omit

4 years

substitute

10 years

13 Section 29 (5)

omit

5 years

substitute

12 years

Endnotes

1 Presentation speech

Presentation speech made in the Legislative Assembly on 29 June 2011.

2 Notification

Notified under the Legislation Act on 23 November 2011.

3 Republications of amended laws

For the latest republication of amended laws, see www.legislation.act.gov.au.

I certify that the above is a true copy of the Crimes (Penalties) Amendment Bill 2011, which was passed by the Legislative Assembly on 16 November 2011.

Clerk of the Legislative Assembly

© Australian Capital Territory 2011