

Australian Capital Territory (Ministers) Act 2013

A2013-47

Republication No 1 Effective: 4 December 2013

Republication date: 4 December 2013

Act not amended

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel

About this republication

The republished law

This is a republication of the Australian Capital Territory (Ministers) Act 2013 (including any amendment made under the Legislation Act 2001, part 11.3 (Editorial changes)) as in force on 4 December 2013. It also includes any commencement, repeal or expiry affecting this republished law.

The legislation history and amendment history of the republished law are set out in endnotes 3 and 4.

Kinds of republications

The Parliamentary Counsel's Office prepares 2 kinds of republications of ACT laws (see the ACT legislation register at www.legislation.act.gov.au):

- authorised republications to which the *Legislation Act 2001* applies
- unauthorised republications.

The status of this republication appears on the bottom of each page.

Editorial changes

The *Legislation Act 2001*, part 11.3 authorises the Parliamentary Counsel to make editorial amendments and other changes of a formal nature when preparing a law for republication. Editorial changes do not change the effect of the law, but have effect as if they had been made by an Act commencing on the republication date (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 115 and s 117). The changes are made if the Parliamentary Counsel considers they are desirable to bring the law into line, or more closely into line, with current legislative drafting practice.

This republication does not include amendments made under part 11.3 (see endnote 1).

Uncommenced provisions and amendments

If a provision of the republished law has not commenced, the symbol [U] appears immediately before the provision heading. Any uncommenced amendments that affect this republished law are accessible on the ACT legislation register (www.legislation.act.gov.au). For more information, see the home page for this law on the register.

Modifications

If a provision of the republished law is affected by a current modification, the symbol [M] appears immediately before the provision heading. The text of the modifying provision appears in the endnotes. For the legal status of modifications, see the *Legislation Act 2001*, section 95.

Penalties

At the republication date, the value of a penalty unit for an offence against this law is \$140 for an individual and \$700 for a corporation (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 133).



Australian Capital Territory (Ministers) Act 2013

Contents

		Page
1	Name of Act	2
3	Number of Ministers—Self-Government Act, s 41 (2)	2
Endnotes		
1	About the endnotes	3
2	Abbreviation key	3
3	Legislation history	4
4	Amendment history	4

Australian Capital Territory (Ministers) Act 2013 Effective: 04/12/13 contents 1



Australian Capital Territory (Ministers) Act 2013

An Act to provide for the number of Ministers for the Territory

R1 04/12/13 page 1

1 Name of Act

This Act is the Australian Capital Territory (Ministers) Act 2013.

3 Number of Ministers—Self-Government Act, s 41 (2)

- (1) This Act is made for the purposes of the *Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Act 1988* (Cwlth), section 41 (2).
- (2) There may be no more than 9 Ministers for the Territory.

page 2

Endnotes

Endnotes

2

About the endnotes

Amending and modifying laws are annotated in the legislation history and the amendment history. Current modifications are not included in the republished law but are set out in the endnotes.

Not all editorial amendments made under the *Legislation Act 2001*, part 11.3 are annotated in the amendment history. Full details of any amendments can be obtained from the Parliamentary Counsel's Office.

Uncommenced amending laws are not included in the republished law. The details of these laws are underlined in the legislation history. Uncommenced expiries are underlined in the legislation history and amendment history.

If all the provisions of the law have been renumbered, a table of renumbered provisions gives details of previous and current numbering.

The endnotes also include a table of earlier republications.

A = Act AF = Approved form am = amended amdt = amendment AR = Assembly resolution ch = chapter CN = Commencement notice def = definition DI = Disallowable instrument dict = dictionary disallowed = disallowed by the Legislative Assembly div = division exp = expires/expired Gaz = gazette hdg = heading IA = Interpretation Act 1967 ins = inserted/added LA = Legislation register LRA = Legislation (Republication) Act 1996	NI = Notifiable instrument o = order om = omitted/repealed ord = ordinance orig = original par = paragraph/subparagraph pres = present prev = previous (prev) = previously pt = part r = rule/subrule reloc = relocated renum = renumbered R[X] = Republication No RI = reissue s = section/subsection sch = schedule sdiv = subdivision SL = Subordinate law sub = substituted <u>underlining</u> = whole or part not commenced
mod = modified/modification	or to be expired

Abbreviation key

R1 04/12/13 Australian Capital Territory (Ministers) Act 2013 Effective: 04/12/13 page 3

¹

Endnotes

3	Legislation history
3	Legislation history
	Australian Capital Territory (Ministers) Act 2013 A2013-47 notified LR 3 December 2013 s 1, s 2 commenced 3 December 2013 (LA s 75 (1)) remainder commenced 4 December 2013 (s 2)
4	Amendment history

s 2 om LA s 89 (4)

© Australian Capital Territory 2013

page 4

Australian Capital Territory (Ministers) Act 2013 Effective: 04/12/13 R1 04/12/13