Public Place Names (Coombs) Determination 2021

Disallowable instrument DI2021-260

made under the

Public Place Names Act 1989, s 3 (Minister to determine names)

1 Name of instrument

This instrument is the *Public Place Names (Coombs) Determination 2021*.

2 Commencement

This instrument commences on the day after its notification day.

3 Determination of place name

I determine the place name as indicated in the schedule.

Ben Ponton
Delegate of the Minister for Planning and Land Management
17 November 2021

(See s 3)

Division of Coombs – Notable public service

The location of the public place with the following name is indicated on the associated diagram.

NAME	ORIGIN	SIGNIFICANCE
Ruth Park	Rosina Ruth Lucia Park AM (1917 – 2010) (Ruth Niland)	Ruth Park wrote more than fifty novels and books including young adult novels, 'The Harp in the South' (1948) and sequel, 'Poor Man's Orange' (1949) and the classic picture book series, 'The Muddle-headed Wombat' (1962–82). In 1977, 'Swords and Crowns and Rings', was awarded the Miles Franklin Literary Award. After marrying in 1942, Ruth Park and D'Arcy Niland (1917–1967) collaborated working as freelance writers to produce short stories, television and radio scripts and advertising jingles. Their joint autobiography, 'The Drums Go Bang!' (1956), provides an account of this period and their experiences living in Surry Hills, Sydney. Park wrote the much-loved children's radio serial, 'The Muddle-headed Wombat', first titled 'The Wide-awake Bunyip', produced by the Australian Broadcasting Commission. In 1981 she received the Australian Children's Book of the Year Award for the adventure story, 'Playing Beatie Bow' (1980), later adapted into a feature film. Ruth Park was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 1987 for service to literature. The first volume of her autobiography, 'A Fence Around the Cuckoo' (1992), won The Age Book of the Year Award for non-fiction and the Colin Roderick Memorial Award, presented by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies Ltd. She received the Lloyd O'Neil Award, recognising outstanding service to the Australian Book Industry and the 2008 Dromkeen Medal, for outstanding achievement in the creation of Australian children's and young adult literature.





DIVISION OF COOMBS