AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

AGENTS ACT 1968

APPOINTMENTS TO THE AGENTS BOARD OF THE A.C.T. INSTRUMENT NO. s 80, 81, 82, & 83 OF 1996

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Agents Board is a body corporate constituted under the *Agents Act 1968* and reports to the Minister for Business, Employment and Tourism.

The role of the Board is to act as the licensing authority for the real estate and travel industries in the ACT. In discharging this function, the aim of the Board is to ensure that consumer interests are protected.

The composition of the Board is determined by the Act. The Board consists of seven members all of whom are appointed by the Minister Members are appointed for periods up to three years as part-time statutory office holders

These instruments (copies attached) appoint Mrs Willy Huys, Mr Jim O'Neill, Mr Jon Howse and Ms Virginia Ford as members of the Board (section 9 (2) of the Act)

The Instrument of Appointment was prepared following consultation with the Legislative Assembly Committee nominated by the Speaker, as required by the Statutory Appointments Act 1994

Long de Domenico

Jeve 96

Circulated by the Authority of

Tony De Domenico

MINISTER FOR BUSINESS, EMPLOYMENT AND TOURISM

Date:

Authorised by the parliamentary counsel and printed by authority of the ACT Government