AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

RADIATION ACT 1983

<u>APPOINTMENT</u>

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Instrument No's 143 & 144 OF 1996

The Radiation Act 1983 governs the establishment and composition of the Radiation Council.

Section 8(2) of the Act deals with the appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

Section 8(3) of the Act requires the Minister to specify the period, not exceeding 3 years, of the term of office of the appointee.

This instrument appoints Dr John Richard Leigh and Dr Kevin Joseph Osborn as members of the Radiation Council until 19 May 1999.

In accordance with Section 4 of the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994* the Social Policy Committee was consulted on the appointments.

١