## **AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY**

## **MEDICAL PRACTITIONERS ACT 1930**

## APPOINTMENTS TO THE MEDICAL BOARD OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

INSTRUMENT NO. 5 155, 156 \$ 157 OF 1996

The *Medical Practitioners Act 1930* (the Act) provides for the registration of medical practitioners and for related purposes.

Section 7 of the Act establishes the Board. Section 8 provides for the constitution of the Board. Paragraph 8 (1) (a) requires that the chairperson and three other members be appointed in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*.

Subsection 8 (2) of the Act provides that a person is not eligible for appointment as a member unless he or she is a registered medical practitioner; and the person was at all times during the period of three years immediately preceding the appointment, entitled under law of a State or territory to practice as a medical practitioner in that State or Territory.

The three appointed positions on the Medical Board became vacant on 4 June 1996. The Board recommended that due to the current transition to self funding that the present three appointed members, being Christine Beryl Bennett, Lybus Chester Hillman and Brian Howard Richards be re-appointed for a further twelve months in order that disruption to Board activities be minimised.

The appointment are for a period of twelve months commencing 5 June 1996 to and including 4 June 1997.

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au