AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

CANBERRA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY ACT 1987

APPOINTMENTS

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

INSTRUMENT NO.'S 285 - 289 OF 1997

The Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987 provides legislation covering technical and further education.

Section 28 of the Act establishes the Canberra Institute of Technology Advisory Council (CITAC) and Section 30 provides for the appointment of members to CITAC by the Minister.

The Minister has appointed the following part-time members to CITAC until 20 November 2000:

- Mr John Hindmarsh Chairperson;
- Mr Kevin Parchell Member;
- Mrs jane L'Estrange Member;
- Ms Lorraine Gabriel Member; and
- Mr Steve Dozpot Member.

In accordance with Section 4 of the Statutory Appointments Act 1994 the Standing Committee on Social Policy was consulted on the appointment