LEGISLATION ACT 2001

CEMETERIES AND CREMATORIA APPOINTMENT 2004 (No 2) INSTRUMENT OF APPOINTMENT 2004

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Disallowable Instrument DI 2004—34

The Cemeteries and Crematoria Act 2003 (the Act) provides for the establishment of the ACT Public Cemeteries Board.

All the members of the Board are appointed by the Minister under Section 33 of the Act.

The Minister is now appointing Board members for a period of three years from the date of notification of the instrument. This is the maximum period permissible under the Act. The Board members are appointed for their experience and expertise in a variety of fields including business, community service, religious practices, accounting, public relations and trust management.

The Board members to be appointed in this instrument are Mr Robert Smeaton (Chair), Mr Paul Perkins (Deputy Chair), Ms Jean Main, Mr Derek Roylance, Mr Clem Lusso and Ms Noelia Pinto-Martone. These members are not public servants

A separate instrument of appointment is being made for one other Board member. Ms Diane Kargas, who is a public servant, occupies the position as Public Trustee for the ACT. Under the *Legislation Act* a disallowable instrument is not required for the appointment of a public servant.

The Standing Committee on Planning and Environment has been consulted regarding the appointments.