EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

ELECTORAL ACT 1992

Appointment of Chairperson and Member of the Australian Capital Territory Electoral Commission

No. 179 of 1992

Subsection 11(1) of the Electoral Act 1992 provides that the Chairperson and other member of the Australian Capital Territory Electoral Commission shall be appointed in writing by the Executive. Subsection 11(5) of the Act provides that the instrument of appointment is an instrument disallowable in the Legislative Assembly.

The instrument appoints Graham Glenn as Chairperson of the Commission and Christabel Young as the other member of the Commission for a period of twelve months from 16 December 1992.