## Occupational Health and Safety Council Appointment 2004 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2004 – 147

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

This Instrument made under section 13(1)(a) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act 1989 appoints the following people as members of the Occupational Health and Safety Council:

- Linda Francis, ACT Government Lead Organiser CPSU
- Peter Malone, Secretary UnionsACT
- Glenn Parry, Assistant Secretary CFMEU
- Sarah Schoonwater, President CFMEU

Before making appointments under section 13(1)(a), the Act requires the Minister to consult with such persons and bodies as she considers represents the interests of employees. The Minister has consulted with UnionsACT.

The appointments commence on 2 July 2004 and expire on 30 June 2007.

The Standing Committee on Legal Affairs has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with the appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

This instrument is a disallowable instrument under section 229 of the *Legislation Act* 2001.