## **AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY**

## LAND (PLANNING AND ENVIRONMENT) ACT HERITAGE COUNCIL APPOINTMENT 2004 (NO 1)

## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT DI 2004-249

This instrument is made under Sections 96 and 99 of the Land (Planning and Environment) Act 1991.

Part III, Section 91 of the Land Act establishes the ACT Heritage Council. Members of Council are appointed by the Minister under section 96. The Minister must appoint members of the heritage council as the chairperson and the deputy chairperson of the heritage council under section 99.

This instrument re-appoints Dr Dianne Firth as a member of the ACT Heritage Council for a period of six months. This instrument also appoints Dr Dianne Firth as Deputy Chairperson. Dr Dianne Firth is not a public servant.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Planning and Environment was consulted and has no objections to the appointments.

This appointment is disallowable.