Australian Capital Territory

## Education (Non Government Schools Education Council) Appointment 2005 (No 1)

## Disallowable Instrument DI 2005 - 37

ACT Education Act 2004, Section 109 (1) Members of Council (non government)

## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *ACT Education Act 2004* governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Non Government Schools Education Council.

Section 109 (1) of the Act deals with appointments of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This instrument appoints Narelle Hargreaves, Michael Bourne, Anne McGovern, Janet Smith, William Maiden, Helen Casey, Michael Gaffney, Phil Gibbons, David Garatt, Allan Hird and Ross Fotheringham for three years from the day after notification of the appointment. The appointees are not public servants and this instrument makes appointments to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

These appointments have been approved by the Minister and the Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People was consulted in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.