Legal Aid Commission Appointment 2005

Disallowable instrument DI2005-53

made under the

Legal Aid Act 1977, s 7 (Constitution of commission)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Legal Aid Commission is established under Part 2 of the *Legal Aid Act 1977*. Subsection 7(1)(e) of the Act states that the commission shall have a commissioner chosen from a panel of not less than three persons nominated by the executive committee of the Council of Social Service of the ACT (ACTCOSS). The minister appoints the commissioner and the term of appointment is for three years.

The signed Disallowable Instrument appoints Ms Jacqueline Pearce as a commissioner chosen from a panel of not less than three persons nominated by the executive committee of the Council of Social Service of the Australian Capital Territory. Under section 7(3), the position is held on a part-time basis. Ms Pearce is not a public servant.

The Standing Committee of Legal Affairs has been consulted as required under the provisions of the *Legislation Act 2001*. The committee has nil comment on the appointment.

The format for this appointment has been varied to facilitate ease of access to membership details for the commission. The schedule in this appointment is not presently intended to be a comprehensive list of all the current appointments to the commission. In future this instrument will be amended to include future appointments and changes to the membership of this commission.