## **AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY**

## **HERITAGE ACT 2004**

Heritage (Council Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson) Appointment 2005 (No 1)

## DI2005-63

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

This instrument is made under Section 17 of the Heritage Act 2004.

Part III, Section 16 of the Heritage Act establishes the ACT Heritage Council. Members of Council, including the Chair and Deputy Chair, are appointed by the Minister under section 17.

This instrument appoints Mr Peter Freeman (Member of Council) as Chairperson and Dr Dianne Firth (Member of Council) as Deputy Chairperson for a period of three years.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Planning and Environment was consulted and has no objections to the appointments.

These people are not public servants so the appointments are by disallowable instrument.