Australian Capital Territory

Education (Government Schools Education Council) Appointment 2005 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI 2005–88

ACT Education Act 2004, Section 57 (1) Members of Council (government)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The ACT Education Act 2004 governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Government Schools Education Council.

Section 57 (1) of the Act deals with appointments of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This instrument appoints Professor Eddie Braggett, Ms Jane Gorrie, Mr Trevor Cobbold, Ms Jill Burgess, Professor Denis Goodrum, Dr Pal Muthiah, and Ms Gillian Styles for three years from the day after notification of the appointment. The appointees are not public servants and this instrument makes appointments to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

The Minister for Education and Training has approved these appointments. The Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People was consulted in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.