Explanatory Statement

Health Professionals (Medical Board) Appointment 2005 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2005—153

made under the

Health Professionals Regulation 2004, Schedule 2 section 2.6

The *Health Professionals Act 2004* (HP Act) is set to commence operation in July 2005 and replaces the *Medical Practitioners Act 1930*. Of the positions of President and five members, two are to be community representatives whilst the President and three members are to be registered medical practitioners. The remaining three members were elected by the profession in December 2004.

To ensure continuity of corporate knowledge and ease the transition to the HP Act, the current members of the Board have been appointed under the provisions of the HP Act for the remainder of their current appointment terms under the *Medical Practitioners Act 1930*.

The HP Act provides for the registration of persons engaged in medical practice to enable them to practise medicine in the ACT.

This instrument makes appointments under the *Legislation Act 2001*. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

The Standing Committee on Health has considered the appointments and has made no comment.

The President, Dr Heather Munro is to be appointed until July 2006, as is Dr Brenda Tait, Dr Phillip Barraclough and Dr Anthony Sangster. Future appointments will then revert to the standard process of appointment for four year terms.