Australian Capital Territory

## Territory Records (Advisory Council) Appointment 2005 (No 1)

## Disallowable instrument DI2005-206

made under the

Territory Records Act 2002, S 44 (Appointed members of council)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The *Territory Records Act 2002* provides for the establishment and functions of Territory Records Advisory Council.

Section 44 of the *Territory Records Act 2002* outlines the appointment requirements to the Council:

Section 46 outlines the terms of appointment of appointed members.

Mr George Nichols has been nominated as Chair of the Territory Records Advisory Council. Mr Nichols is appointed for a two year term.

Ms Veronica Pumpa has been nominated to represent professional organisations interested in records management and archives and is nominated by the Records Management Association of Australasia. Ms Pumpa has also been nominated as Deputy Chair. Ms Pumpa is appointed for a two year term.

Ms Judith Baskin has been nominated to represent community associations interested in historical or heritage issues and is nominated by the National Trust of Australia (ACT). Ms Baskin is appointed for a two year term.

Ms Jill Caldwell has been nominated to represent community associations interested in historical or heritage issues and is nominated by the Australian Women's Archives Project. Ms Caldwell is appointed for a three year term.

Ms June Penny has been nominated to represent community associations interested in historical or heritage issues and is nominated by the Heraldry & Genealogy Society of Canberra. Ms Penny is appointed for a three year term.

Mr Steve Stuckey has been nominated to represent professional organisations interested in records management and archives and is nominated by the Australian Society of Archivists. Mr Stuckey is appointed for a three year term. Ms Joanne Taylor has been nominated to represent entities interested in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander heritage. The person nominated to this position must be an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander. Ms Taylor is appointed for a three year term.

Mr Phillip Tardif has been nominated to represent Territory agencies. Mr Tardif is a public servant and in accordance with Section 227 2(a) of the Legislation Act 1991 has not been included in the Disallowable Instrument. Mr Tardif is appointed for a three year term.

Mr David Wardle, the appointed Director of Territory Records, is a member of the Territory Records Advisory Council. Mr Wardle is a public servant and in accordance with Section 227 2(a) of the Legislation Act 1991 has not been included in the Disallowable Instrument. Mr wardle is a member of the Council for the term of his appointment as the Director of Territory Records.