Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee) Establishment and Constitution 2005

Disallowable instrument DI 2005 — 278

made under the

Animal Welfare Act 1992, s 109 (Establishment and functions)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This instrument is made under the *Animal Welfare Act 1992*, s 109 (Establishment and functions).

The Animal Welfare Act establishes the ACT Animal Welfare Advisory Committee. Members of the Committee, are appointed by the Minister under section 109.

This instrument appoints 10 members and a Chairperson.

Members are appointed for a maximum period of three years.

The Instrument appoints Ms Pamela Burton, Ms Sue Gage, Dr Lynette Gallimore, Mr Tom Allen, Dr Andrew Braid, Ms Frankie Seymour, Ms Emily Stewart-Reed, Mr Colin Bates, Ms Joanne Duffy and Dr Glad Cowie to be members of the Committee for a period three years.

This instrument appoints Ms Pamela Burton as Chairperson for a period of three years.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Planning and Environment was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.

These people are not public servants so the appointment is by disallowable instrument.