## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Gungahlin Development Authority Act 1996* (Section 14) provides for the appointment of members to the Gungahlin Development Authority. Section 15 of the Act provides that a member may hold office for a period not exceeding three years.

The instrument appoints Lawrence Willett AO, Alan Scandrett, Michael Cullen, Peter Cullen, Helen Lochhead, Lynette McDonald, Jennifer Morison, Anne Windsor, Mick Lilley, Anne McGrath, Alan Thompson and Ian Ruecroft.

The appointments take effect from 1 July 1999 for a term specified in the instrument.

Under the requirements of the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*, consultation has been undertaken with the Standing Committee for the Chief Minister's Portfolio. Mr Ted Quinlan MLA, Chair of the Committee, advised on 20 August 1999 that the Committee had been adequately consulted about the appointments.