AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Nurses Board Appointments 2002 (No.1)

DISALLOWABLE INSTRUMENT DI2002-167

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Nurses Board is established under Section 6 of the *Nurses Act 1988* and comprises the Chair, and eight other members. Of these nine, four are elected by the profession in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Elections) Act 1980* and five (including the Chair) are appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*.

The Act provides for the registration and enrolment of suitably qualified nurses, to enable them to practice in the ACT. All registered and enrolled nurses were notified by circular of the forthcoming term of office. The closing date for nominations was 15 April 2002.

A person is not eligible for appointment as a member unless the person is a registered or enrolled nurse in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding three years entitled, under the law of a State or Territory, to practise nursing in that State or Territory.

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health and Community Care has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*. This Instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see legislation Act 2001, s229).

Mr Mary Kirk, Ms Rebecca Vanderheide, Ms Leanne Williams, Ms Robyn Staniforth and Dr Joanne Ramadge are appointed for a three year period. Ms Rhonda Maher is appointed as an acting member until 9 January 2003.