Housing Assistance (Public Rental Housing Assistance Program) Review Committee Appointments 2006 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2006-57

made under the

Housing Assistance Public Rental Housing Assistance Program 2005 (No 2) – DI2005-281, s 26 (Housing Review Committee).

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Housing Review Committee was established in 1989 as an independent body to review the Commissioner for Housing decisions on applications for housing assistance, under the *Housing Assistance Act 1987* sub-section. 12(1) in the form of the Public Rental Housing Assistance Program (PRHAP).

The Housing Review Committee is an advisory body that has a total of eight members that meet on a rostered basis. The membership is selected from the ACT community and is appointed by the responsible ACT Minister following government endorsement. All current committee members' term of appointment expired on 31 December 2005.

This Disallowable Instrument appoints the following individuals to the Housing Review Committee for a six-month term ending 30 June 2006.

- Mrs Helen Jean Uhe;
- Dr Sae McGCrystal;
- Mr Paul Coghlan;
- Mr Michael Eng-Kim Teh;
- Ms Patricia Ruth McDonald;
- Ms Toni McInes;
- Ms Catherine Hays; and
- Ms Bronwyn Parsons.

Division 19.3.3 section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001* requires that appointments to statutory positions made by the Minister may only be made after consultation with a Standing Committee of the Legislative Assembly. The Standing Committee on Health and Disability considered the appointments and on 23 February 2006 made no recommendation about the appointments.

This Disallowable Instrument is necessary to provide the appointees with statutory authority to perform the duties of the Housing Review Committee under the *Housing Assistance Act 1987*.