## **Liquor Licensing Board Appointment 2006**

Disallowable instrument DI2006-75

made under the

Liquor Act 1975, s 12 (Membership of Board)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

Under section 12 of the *Liquor Act 1975* (the Act) the Liquor Licensing Board (the Board) is constituted by a chairperson appointed by the minister, the registrar of liquor licences and three other members appointed by the minister. Section 13 of the Act requires that the minister shall not appoint a person to be chairperson unless the person has been a lawyer for not less than five years. Members other than the registrar hold office on a part-time basis for such period as specified in the instrument of appointment.

The Board is a body established under Part 2 of the Act to promote and encourage responsibility in the sale and consumption of liquor by considering and determining applications or other matters referred to it; conducting inquiries, including hearings, in relation to applications or other matters referred to it; advising the minister, as required, on matters of policy and administration; and exercising the other functions given to it.

The signed Disallowable Instrument reappoints Mr Allan Michael O'Neil as chairperson of the Board, commencing on 29 May 2006 and ending on 31 December 2008.

The Standing Committee of Legal Affairs has been consulted as required under the provisions of the *Legislation Act 2001*. The committee has advised that it had no comment on the appointment.

The table below shows the membership of the Board following this appointment:

Name	Office	Start Date	End Date
Mr Peter Conway	Member	1 January 2005	31 December 2008
Mr Brian McDonald	Member	1 May 2005	30 April 2010
Ms Robyn Davies	Member	14 November 2003	13 November 2008
Mr Allan O'Neil	Chairperson	29 May 2006	31 December 2008