Australian Capital Territory

Occupational Health and Safety Council Appointment 2006 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2006 - 79

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This Instrument made under section 21(1)(b) of the *Occupational Health and Safety Act 1989* appoints the following persons as acting members of the Occupational Health and Safety Council:

- Clyde Stewart (acting member for Mr Glenn Parry)
- Jason Jennings (acting member for Ms Sarah Schoonwater)

Before making appointments under section 21(2), the Act requires the Minister to consult such persons and bodies that represent the interests of employees. The Minister has consulted with UnionsACT. No acting members have previously been appointed for Mr Parry or Ms Schoonwater.

The Standing Committee on Legal Affairs has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (Consultation with the appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The appointment commences on the day after notification and expires on 30 June 2007. Neither Mr Jennings or Mr Stewart are public servants.

This instrument is a disallowable instrument under section 229 of the Legislation Act 2001.