Australian Capital Territory

## Gambling and Racing Commission-Appointments 2002 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2002—207

## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Gambling and Racing Control Act 1999* establishes a Commission that is responsible for controlling and regulating all gaming, racing and betting activities in the ACT.

Schedule 1, Clause 2(1) enables the Minister to appoint ordinary members to the Commission. Schedule 1, Clause 3(1) & 3(2) enables the Minister to appoint ordinary members as chairperson and deputy chairperson of the Commission. The Minister has reappointed Mr John Broome as an ordinary member and chairperson of the Gambling and Racing Commission from 1 December 2002 until 30 November 2003; Ms Judy Sullivan as an ordinary member and deputy chairperson of the Gambling and Racing Commission from 1 December 2002 until 30 November 2003; Ms Judy Sullivan as an ordinary member and deputy chairperson of the Gambling and Racing Commission from 1 December 2002 until 30 November 2005; and Ms W. Joan Perry as an ordinary member of the Gambling and Racing Commission from 1 December 2002 until 30 November 2005.

This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under *Legislation Act 2001*, s.229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

These appointments have been approved by the Minister and the Standing Committee on Public Accounts has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.