Tertiary Accreditation and Registration Council Appointment 2006 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI 2006 - 219

made under the

Tertiary Accreditation and Registration Act 2003 Section 12(3) Membership of council

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Tertiary Accreditation and Registration Act 2003* governs the establishment, functions and membership of the ACT Accreditation and Registration Council.

Section 12 (3) of the Act deals with appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This instrument appoints Professor Ruth Foxwell until 15 May 2009 representing the interests of higher education position on the Council. The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.