## Canberra Institute of Technology (Advisory Council) Appointment 2006 (No 7)

Disallowable Instrument DI2006-222

## **Explanatory Statement**

Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987, Section 30 Membership of the Council

\_\_\_\_\_

The Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987 governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Canberra Institute of Technology Advisory Council.

Section 30 (5) of the Act deals with appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This instrument appoints Dr Sarah Ryan, after consultation with industry, as Chairperson until 30 September 2007. The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the Legislation Act 2001.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.