Australian Capital Territory

## Workers Compensation (Default Insurance Fund Advisory Committee) Appointment 2006 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2006—228

## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Workers Compensation Act 1951 establishes a Default Insurance Fund to provide a safety net to meet the costs of workers compensation claims made by workers if - (a) an employer does not have a compulsory insurance policy; or (b) an approved insurer is wound up under the Corporations Act or cannot provide the indemnity required to be provided under a compulsory insurance policy.

Section 3.4 (1) of Schedule 3 of the Act stipulates that the Committee shall consist of (a) the DI fund manager; (b) the DI fund actuary; and (c) 6 members appointed by the Minister.

Section 3.4 (2) stipulates that the Minister must appoint the following members: (a) 2 members nominated by a group that represents employer interests; (b) 2 members nominated by a group representing employee interests; and (c) 2 members nominated by a majority of approved insurers.

Section 3.4 (3) of the Act provides that appointments must not be longer than 3 years.

The Minister has appointed Ms Linda Francis as a member of the Committee representing employees for a period of three years commencing on the day after notification.

The appointee is not a Public Servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s.229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

This appointment has been approved by the Minister and the Standing Committee on Legal Affairs has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au