AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) – Nurses Board of the ACT Appointments 2002 (No.2)

Disallowable Instrument Number DI2002-219

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This Disallowable Instrument revokes DI2002-167.

The Nurses Board is established under Section 6 of the *Nurses Act 1988* and comprises the Chair, and eight other members. Of these nine, four are elected by the profession in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Elections) Act 1980* and five (including the Chair) are appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*.

The Act provides for the registration and enrolment of suitably qualified nurses, to enable them to practice in the ACT.

A person is not eligible for appointment as a member unless the person is a registered or enrolled nurse in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding three years entitled, under the law of a State or Territory, to practise nursing in that State or Territory.

This Instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see legislation Act 2001, s229).

Mr Mary Kirk, Ms Rebecca Vanderheide, Ms Leanne Williams, Ms Robyn Staniforth and are appointed for a three year period.