Explanatory Statement

Drugs of Dependence (Drugs Advisory Committee) Appointment 2007 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2007 - 101

Made under the

Drugs of Dependence Act 1989, section 66 (Drugs advisory committee-establishment)

This Instrument, made under section 66 of the *Drugs of Dependence Act 1989*, appoints the following persons as members of the Committee:

- Dr Katherine Lubbe,
- Dr Charles Martin Howse, and
- Dr Linda Mary Welberry.

Pursuant to section 66(7) of the *Drugs of Dependence Act 1989*, Dr Katherine Lubbe is appointed as Chairperson of the Drugs Advisory Committee.

The Minister has consulted with the Royal Australian College of Psychiatrists, the Australian Medical Association and the Office of Multicultural Affairs on the appointments.

As none of the appointees are public servants, the Standing Committee on Health and Disability has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (Consultation with the appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The appointments are for a period of three years commencing on the day after notification.

This instrument is a disallowable instrument under section 229 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.