Australian Capital Territory

Training and Tertiary Education (Accreditation and Registration Council) Appointment 2007 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2007 - 208

made under the

Training and Tertiary Education Act 2003 Section 12(2) Membership of Council

Explanatory Statement

The Training and Tertiary Education Act 2003 governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Accreditation and Registration Council.

Section 12(2) of the Act deals with appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This instrument appoints Professor John Richards for three years, until 1 September 2010, as the Chair of the Accreditation and Registration Council. The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.