Heritage (Council Members) Appointment 2007 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2007-221

made under the

Heritage Act 2004

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This instrument is made under Section 17 of the Heritage Act 2004.

Part 3, Section 16 of the Heritage Act establishes the ACT Heritage Council. Members of Council, including the Chair and Deputy Chair, are appointed by the Minister under section 17.

This instrument appoints 2 members on a short-term appointment until 28 April 2008.

This instrument appoints Mr Colin Stewart (Architecture) and Mr John Kemister (Engineering) to be members of the Council until April 2008.

The appointees are not ACT Public Servants and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s.229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

This appointment has been approved by the Minister for the Environment, Water and Climate Change, and the Standing Committee on Planning and Environment has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.