## **Civil Law (Wrongs) Professional Standards Council Appointment 2007 (No 3)**

## Disallowable instrument DI 2007 - 231

## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

All States and Territories have enacted legislation which enables the establishment of a national Professional Standards Council, which is made up of individual jurisdictional councils. The objects of the legislation are to constitute Professional Standards Councils, to enable the creation of schemes to limit the civil liability of professionals and others, to facilitate the improvement of occupational standards, and to protect consumers.

Section 4.36 of Schedule 4 of the *Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002* provides for the establishment of the ACT Professional Standards Council (ACT Council). The ACT Council consists of eleven people appointed by the Minister who have the experience, skills and qualifications the Minister considers appropriate to enable them to make a contribution to the work of the ACT Council.

All States and Territories have agreed to appoint the same eleven members to their Professional Standards Councils (the Councils). The Councils will comprise one member nominated by each of the States and Territories and the Commonwealth, with the exception of NSW and Victoria, which will nominate two.

Ten out of the eleven members have already been appointed to the ACT Council. This instrument appoints the eleventh and final member to the ACT Council.

As required by the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Standing Committee on Legal Affairs has been consulted on the appointments. The Committee has provided no comments on the appointment of this final member.

The instrument appoints Mr Justin Harper to the ACT Council. The appointment ends on 30 June 2008.