Public Place Names (Franklin) Determination 2008 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2008 - 17

made under the

Public Place Names Act 1989— section 3 (Minister to determine names)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Public Place Names Act 1989* provides for the naming of divisions and public places and, in particular, section 3 empowers the Minister to determine in writing, published in the ACT Legislation Register, the name of a division or public place.

Pursuant to Section 254A of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister has delegated the power under the *Public Place Names Act 1989* to name a division or public place to the Chief Planning Executive, ACT Planning and Land Authority.

This Instrument determines the name of a public place in the Division of Franklin as specified in the attached schedule and associated plan.

The place being named has Aboriginal significance.

This instrument commemorates words from the Ngunnawal and Ngarigu languages.