Explanatory Statement

Health Professionals (Dental Technicians and Dental Prosthetists Board) Appointment 2008 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2008—49

made under the

Health Professionals Regulation 2004 Section 10 (Board members – election or appointment)

The Board is established under Section 4 of the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004* and comprises the President appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004*, Section 5 and six other members (one of whom is a community representative) appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004*, Section 10. Section 8.7 of Schedule 8 to the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004* specifies the Board membership.

The Act protects the public from risk of harm by ensuring that the people who provide health services regulated by the Act are competent to provide health services, and for other purposes.

A person is not eligible for appointment as a professional member unless the person is a registered dental technician or dental prosthetist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been registered for a continuous period of at least three years immediately before the day of the appointment. A community representative member must be on the community representative list for the Board, in accordance with section 11 (4) of the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004*.

This appointment is made to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of a community representative, Anne Maree Vogt.

This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229) and applies to Despina Debbie Papadopoulos (community representative) who is not an ACT public servant.

Despina Debbie Papadopoulos' name appears on the Dental Technicians and Dental Prosthetists Board Community Representative List. The list was notified by Notifiable Instrument NI2008-16.

The members of the Board currently serving are Terry McHugh, appointed President, Christopher McCarthy, Rex Jefferson-Taite, David McGuinness, Larry Vaughan and Rohan Scott (all appointed members).

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health and Disability has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*.