Cultural Facilities Corporation (Governing Board) Appointment 2008 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2008-50

made under the

Cultural Facilities Corporation Act 1997, Division 2.2, and Financial Management Act 1996, Section 79

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Cultural Facilities Corporation Act 1997* establishes the Cultural Facilities Corporation.

Governing board members of the Cultural Facilities Corporation are appointed under Division 2.2 of the *Cultural Facilities Corporation Act 1997* and Section 79 of the *Financial Management Act 1996*.

This instrument appoints Professor Don Aitkin as chair of the governing board. The appointment begins on 6 August 2008 for a period of three years to 6 August 2011.

The appointee is not a Public Servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s.229, the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

This appointment has been approved by the Minister for the Arts, and the Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act* 2001.