Australian Capital Territory

Cultural Facilities Corporation (Governing Board) Appointment 2008 (No 2)

Disallowable Instrument DI2008–188

made under the Cultural Facilities Corporation Act 1997, Section 9 (Establishment of governing board)

(see also Financial Management Act 1996, Section 78 (5) (b) and Section 79)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Cultural Facilities Corporation Act 1997* establishes the Cultural Facilities Corporation.

Governing board members of the Cultural Facilities Corporation are appointed under Section 9 of the *Cultural Facilities Corporation Act 1997* (se also Section 78 (5) (b) and Section 79 of the *Financial Management Act 1996*).

This new instrument revokes instrument DI 2008–50 (as it contains some typographical errors) and appoints Professor Don Aitkin AO as a member and chair of the governing board. The appointment begins the day after notification to 6 August 2011.

The appointee is not a Public Servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the Legislation Act 2001, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the Legislation Act 2001, s.229, the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

This appointment has been approved by the Minister for the Arts, and the Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the Legislation Act 2001.