Australian Capital Territory

Emergencies (Bushfire Council Members) Appointment 2008 (No 3)

Disallowable instrument DI2008-222

made under the

Emergencies Act 2004, s 129 (Bushfire council members)

Explanatory Statement

Outline

The bushfire council has the function of advising the Minister about matters relating to bushfires.

Under section 129 (1) of the *Emergencies Act 2004* the Minister must appoint the bushfire council members. Under section 129 (2) the Minister must try to ensure that people with particular skills, interests and experience are among the members appointed. The appointments are made according to these requirements.

This instrument revokes DI2005-24. The purpose of this instrument is to rectify an administrative oversight and tidy up the appointment instruments.

Mr Butler resigned from his position, Mr Lonergan had been reappointed under DI 2008-25 and Mr Jeffery was appointed as Chair under DI2007-38. Mr Wise's appointment remains in force until 31 December 2008.

The Standing Committee on Legal Affairs was previously consulted in relation to the reappointment of Mr Lonergan (DI2008-25) and the appointment of Mr Jeffery as Chair (DI2007-38). The Committee has not been consulted in relation to this instrument as Mr Wise's appointment is from the same term as was agreed to by the Committee when considering DI2005-24.