Territory Records (Advisory Council) Appointment 2009 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2009-35

made under the

Territory Records Act 2002, S 44 (Appointed members of council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Territory Records Act 2002* provides for the establishment and functions of Territory Records Advisory Council.

Section 44 of the *Territory Records Act 2002* outlines the appointment requirements to the Council:

Section 46 outlines the terms of appointment of appointed members.

Ms Jill Caldwell has been nominated to represent community associations interested in historical or heritage issues and is a member of the Australian Women's Archives Project and the Australian Society of Archivists. Ms Caldwell is appointed for a three year term.

Ms June Penny has been nominated to represent community associations interested in historical or heritage issues and is a member of the Heraldry & Genealogy Society of Canberra. Ms Penny is appointed for a three year term.

Mr Andrew Kefford has been nominated to represent Territory agencies. Mr Kefford is a public servant and appointed in accordance with Section 227 2(a) of the Legislation Act 1991. Mr Kefford is appointed for a three year term. Although it is not a legislative requirement to appoint Mr Kefford by disallowable instrument, this has been done to provide a complete list of Council members on the ACT Legislation Register.