Australian Capital Territory

**Explanatory Statement** 

## Radiation Protection (Council Member) Appointment 2009 (No 1)

Notifiable Instrument NI 2009–288

made under the

Radiation Protection Act 2006, s 68 (Council members)

The *Radiation Protection Act 2006* (Radiation Act) governs the establishment and composition of the Radiation Council (the Council).

The Council has the following functions: issuing licences; registering regulated radiation sources; providing advice to Minister on radiation issues; and exercising any other function allocated to it under the Radiation Act or another territory law.

Section 68 of the Radiation Act provides the Minister with the power to appoint the Council members. The Council must include a member of the public, a radiologist, an expert person who has knowledge of the physical properties and or the biological effects of radiation and another person whom the Minister believes has particular qualifications or experience that would assist the Council undertaking its functions. Each Council member is appointed for a period of not more than three years.

Section 70 of the Radiation Act provides the Minister with the power to appoint a council member as the chair of the council and another member as the deputy chair.

This instrument makes appointments under the Legislation Act 2001.

Dr Dennis Sean Geoghegan is appointed as a Member of the Radiation Council for a period of three years. All the members of the Radiation Council are part time. Dr Geoghegan is the Chief Medical Physicist for ACT Health and is also an ACT Government Public Servant.