Nature Conservation (Flora and Fauna Committee) Appointment 2010

Disallowable instrument DI2010-21

made under the

Nature Conservation Act 1980, section 17 (Membership)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This instrument is made under Section 17 of the *Nature Conservation Act* 1980.

Section 17 of the Act provides that the Minister shall appoint members, two of whom shall not be public servants.

This instrument appoints one new member, Dr Richard Schodde, to the Flora and Fauna Committee.

Existing members of the Flora and Fauna Committee are:

- Professor Arthur Georges (Chairperson and Member)
- Dr Penny Olsen (Deputy Chairperson and Member)
- Dr Richard Norris (Member)
- Dr Margaret Kitchin (Member)
- Dr Barry Richardson (Member)
- Mr Paul Stevenson (Member)

Dr Margaret Kitchin is a public servant and a member of the Flora and Fauna Committee. As a public servant Dr Kitchin's appointment is made under the *Legislation Act 2001*.

All the members have appropriate expertise in biodiversity or ecology as is required under the *Nature Conservation Act 1980*, and will hold office as part-time members for a period not exceeding three years.

The Standing Committee on Climate Change, Environment and Water was consulted during the appointment process.

This appointment is a disallowable instrument.