Australian Capital Territory

Explanatory Statement

Health Professionals Dental Technicians and Dental Prosthetists Board Appointment 2010 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2010-70

made under the

Health Professionals Regulation 2004 Section 5 (Board president) and Section 10 (Board members – election or appointment) and Legislation Act 2001 section 229

The Board is established under Section 4 of the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004* and comprises the President appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004*, Section 5 and six other members (one of whom is a community representatives) appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004*, Section 10. Section 8.7 of Schedule 8 to the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004* specifies the Board membership, which is to comprise three dental prosthetists, three dental technicians and one community representative.

The Act protects the public from risk of harm by ensuring that the people who provide health services regulated by the Act are competent to provide health services, and for other purposes.

A person is not eligible for appointment as president or as a dental technician or dental prosthetist member unless the person is a registered dental technician or dental prosthetist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been registered for a continuous period of at least three years immediately before the day of the appointment. Mr Jefferson-Taite and Mr McHugh are both registered as dental technicians and as dental prosthetists and satisfy these requirements.

These appointments are made to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of Terry McHugh (president) and a subsequent vacancy created by a member (Rex Jefferson-Taite) being appointed to fill the president's position. Mr McHugh has agreed to be appointed as a member.

This instrument makes appointments to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see

Legislation Act 2001, s 229) and applies to Rex Jefferson-Taite and Terry McHugh, neither of whom are ACT public servants.

Other members of the Board currently serving are Christopher McCarthy (registered as a dental technician and as a dental prosthetist), Rohan Scott, (registered as a dental technician) and Despina (Debbie) Papadopoulos (community representative). There is one vacant position.

Consultation with the Standing Committee on Health, Community and Social Services has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*.