Animal Welfare Advisory Committee Appointment 2010 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI 2010—207

made under the

Animal Welfare Act 1992, s 109 (Establishment and functions)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This instrument is made under the *Animal Welfare Act 1992*, s 109 (Establishment and functions).

The Animal Welfare Act establishes the ACT Animal Welfare Advisory Committee. Members of the Committee, are appointed by the Minister under section 109.

This instrument appoints 4 members and a Chairperson.

Members are appointed for a maximum period of three years.

The Instrument appoints Ms Frankie Seymour, Mr Rodney Crompton, Dr John Guth and Ms Marg Peachey to be members of the Committee for a period three years.

This instrument appoints Mr Mark Hyman as Chairperson for a period of three years.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Planning, Public Works and Territory and Municipal Services was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.

These people are not public servants so the appointment is by disallowable instrument.