Australian Capital Territory

Exhibition Park Corporation (Governing Board) Appointments 2010 (No 4)

Disallowable Instrument DI2010-288

made under the

Exhibition Park Corporation Act 1976, s 8 (Establishment of governing board), s 9 (Governing board members)

Financial Management Act 1996, s 78 (Appointment of governing board members generally), s 79 (Appointment of chair and deputy chair)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 8 of the *Exhibition Park Corporation Act 1976* establishes the governing board for the Exhibition Park Corporation (the corporation).

Section 78 of the *Financial Management Act 1996* (the FMA) provides for the appointment of members to governing boards of Territory authorities generally and section 79 of the FMA provides for the appointment of chairs and deputy chairs to those governing boards. The corporation is a Territory authority for the purposes of the FMA.

This instrument appoints Ms Robyn Hendry and Ms Jean McIntyre to the governing board of the corporation from the day after its notification for a period of one year.

As Ms Hendry and Ms McIntyre are not a public servants, the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under section 229 of that Act, this instrument is a Disallowable Instrument.

Prior to making this appointment, the Minister for Tourism, Sport and Recreation consulted with the Legislative Assembly's Standing Committee on Planning, Public Works and Territory and Municipal Services in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.