Australian Capital Territory

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Transplantation and Anatomy (Designated Officers) Appointment 2010 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2010–292

made under the

Transplantation and Anatomy Act 1978, section 5

Designated Officers are medical practitioners appointed under Section 5 of the Transplant and Anatomy Act 1978.

A Designated Officer has authority to authorise, in writing, the removal of tissue from the body of a deceased person for the purpose of transplantation to the body of a living person or for other therapeutic, medical or scientific purposes.

Section 5 of the Act allows the Minister to appoint medical officers as designated officers for the purpose of organ and tissue donation. The Minister has appointed Dr Stephen Davies, Dr Grant Devine, Dr Andrew Hehir and Dr Carmel McInerney as Designated Officers for the term of their employment at the Canberra Hospital.

These appointments are considered necessary to provide an adequate pool of officers at the Canberra Hospital to enable timely progression of the organ and tissue donation process in the ACT.

The appointees are not public servants and this instrument makes an appointment to which the Legislation Act 2001, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the Legislation Act 2001, s.229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument. This appointment has been approved by the Minister for Health and the Standing Committee on Health, Community and Social Services has been consulted in accordance with section 228 of the Legislation Act 2001.