Radiation Protection (Council Member) Appointment 2011 (No 3)

Notifiable instrument NI2011–54

made under the

Radiation Protection Act 2006, s 68 (Council Members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Radiation Council was established under the *Radiation Protection Act 2006* (the Act) and is responsible for issuing licences, registering regulated radiation sources, advising the Minister on radiation protection issues and exercising any other function given to it under the Act or another territory law.

Section 68 of the Act enables the Minister to appoint members to the Radiation Council. The Council must include a member of the public, a radiologist, an expert person who has knowledge of the physical properties and or the biological effects of radiation and another person whom the Minister believes has particular qualifications or experience that would assist the Council to undertake its functions. Each Council member is appointed for a period of not more than three years.

The Minister has appointed Dr Mervyn Despois as a member of the Radiation Council. This instrument commences on the day after notification until 30 November 2013.

Dr Mervyn Despois is a doctor registered under the *Health Professionals Act 2004* and is a currently practising radiologist.

The appointee is a public servant and as such this instrument is a notifiable instrument.

The Standing Committee on Health, Community and Social Services has been consulted on this appointment in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.