Canberra Institute of Technology (Advisory Council) Appointment 2011 (No. 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2011-35

made under the

Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987, section 32 (Appointment of chair)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987* governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Canberra Institute of Technology Advisory Council (the Council).

Section 32 of the Act enables the Minister to appoint a council member as chair of the Council.

The Minister for Education and Training, Andrew Barr MLA, has appointed Ms Kathy Kostyrko as chair of the Council from the day after notification until 31 December 2011. Ms Kostyrko is currently a member of the Council; her current appointment began on 21 September 2009 for a period of three years.

The appointee is not public servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3, applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument under the *Legislation Act 2001*, section 229.

The Standing Committee on Education, Training and Youth Affairs has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly Committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.