Canberra Institute of Technology (Advisory Council) Appointment 2011 (No.4)

Disallowable instrument DI2011-39

made under the

Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987, section 31 (Appointment of council members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987* governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Canberra Institute of Technology Advisory Council (the Council).

Section 31(2) of the Act enables the Minister to appoint members to the Advisory Council. It requires the Minister to ensure that there is always –

- a) 1 member who represents an organisation that represents the teaching staff;
- b) 1 member who represents the student body;
- c) 7 members who represent the interests of industry and commerce;
- d) 2 members, not representing the interest of industry or commerce, who have experience and knowledge relevant to the functions of the council;
- e) 1 member who has skills in and knowledge of vocational education and training.

The Minister for Education and Training, Andrew Barr MLA, has appointed Mr Terry Williams as a member of the Council from the day after notification until 21 December 2012. Mr Williams has been appointed as a member, not representing the interests of industry and commerce, who has experience and knowledge relevant to the functions of the Council (section 31(2)(d)). Mr Williams is currently an acting member of the Council, appointed by Disallowable Instrument DI2009-254. Mr Williams' current appointment expires on 21 December 2012. This instrument repeals and replaces DI2009-254, and covers the period up to the expiry of his current appointment.

The appointee is not public servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3, applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument under the *Legislation Act 2001*, section 229.

The Standing Committee on Education, Training and Youth Affairs has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly Committee) of the *Legislation Act* 2001.